Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Immunet 3.0.5.7980 Released!


  • Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

#1 RobT

RobT

    Advanced Member

  • Administrators
  • 245 posts

Posted 06 February 2012 - 08:51 PM

Hi everyone, Immunet 3.0.5.7980 has been released and is now available! The installer below can be used for new installations and upgrades from prior 3.0.4 or earlier versions:

Immunet Protect 3.0.5.7980

Please note, if you already have an Immunet 3.0.5 version installed you will need to uninstall it before re-installing from the link above.

Release notes:
-Performance enhancement: cache top level directories in-memory. This will help users who have reported the Immunet Agent process consuming 100% CPU for several minutes after completing a full scan.
-Performance enhancement: better logic when performing Agent historyex cleanup. This will help with users who have reported the Immunet Agent using 100% CPU at seemingly random times.
-Various installer fixes for issues when upgrading from v1.0.x or v2.0.x
-Fixed some memory leaks that could have affected long running Agent processes.
  • reahwhems and galobeelete like this

#2 ritchie58

ritchie58

    Staff Member

  • Moderators
  • 1,960 posts
  • LocationOil City, Pa. U.S.A.

Posted 07 February 2012 - 12:19 AM

Hi RobT, the link doesn't seem to be working at the moment. I get a "Server Not Found" message. I'll try it a little later to see what happens.

* Immunet Global Forum Moderator *


#3 JasonR

JasonR

    Advanced Member

  • Administrators
  • 10 posts

Posted 07 February 2012 - 05:08 AM

Hi Ritchie,

It looks like the link was shortened by mistake. I've adjusted the original link and it should allow you to download the new version correctly now.

Thanks,

Jason

#4 ritchie58

ritchie58

    Staff Member

  • Moderators
  • 1,960 posts
  • LocationOil City, Pa. U.S.A.

Posted 07 February 2012 - 05:19 AM

Thanks Jason! The link does indeed work now.

* Immunet Global Forum Moderator *


#5 Bruce2

Bruce2

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 59 posts
  • LocationUConn BB with Geno and Jim

Posted 08 February 2012 - 11:43 AM

Hi everyone, Immunet 3.0.5.7980 has been released and is now available! The installer below can be used for new installations and upgrades from prior 3.0.4 or earlier versions:

Immunet Protect 3.0.5.7980

Please note, if you already have an Immunet 3.0.5 version installed you will need to uninstall it before re-installing from the link above.

Release notes:
-Performance enhancement: cache top level directories in-memory. This will help users who have reported the Immunet Agent process consuming 100% CPU for several minutes after completing a full scan.
-Performance enhancement: better logic when performing Agent historyex cleanup. This will help with users who have reported the Immunet Agent using 100% CPU at seemingly random times.
-Various installer fixes for issues when upgrading from v1.0.x or v2.0.x
-Fixed some memory leaks that could have affected long running Agent processes.

If 3.0.5 is uninstalled will the exceptions be kept when 7980 is installed..

#6 Chris Thomas

Chris Thomas

    Advanced Member

  • Immunet Insiders
  • PipPipPip
  • 46 posts
  • LocationUnited Arab Emirates

Posted 08 February 2012 - 07:17 PM

I am back to these forum after an year or so.

I have to admit that it still takes around 3 hours to do FULL scan whereas in Avast I can do it with less than 1 hour or so.

I dunno, I think you need to work hard to fix more.

It is nearly a bloatware compared to other full fledged Av's

I used to ask people to install Immunet but now I don't

I got so many complaints from people because its slow and use a lot of cpu.

If you want to stay in the field

You need a real freemium model like Avast.

You cannot disable some essential functions like Rootkit scanning or Deep scanning and expect people to use the Free version or even upgrade to the Premium version.

Every freeware AVs are going CLOUD including Avast and Comodo

So, there isn't anything special with Immunet anymore.
  • jup11W7 likes this

#7 ritchie58

ritchie58

    Staff Member

  • Moderators
  • 1,960 posts
  • LocationOil City, Pa. U.S.A.

Posted 08 February 2012 - 09:38 PM

Hi Bruce2, your exceptions will be saved if you say yes when asked by the uninstaller if you plan to reinstall Immunet. I did have to re-log into my Community account and reset the automatic scan again after installing. Regards, Ritchie...

* Immunet Global Forum Moderator *


#8 JasonR

JasonR

    Advanced Member

  • Administrators
  • 10 posts

Posted 08 February 2012 - 09:57 PM

Thanks Chris for the constructive criticism on our product. Although I've only recently started with the team here, I know they've been working hard to increase the efficiency and capabilities of the Immunet Protect product. In your post, you mentioned items such as length time for a full scan as well as CPU usage issues. Was this with the latest version of Immunet Protect? If not, I invite you to try it again as a number of issues have been addressed in the last year that might be pertinent to your situation. Please feel free to reach out to me directly by private message if you have any other concerns you'd like to discuss.

Cheers,

Jason

I am back to these forum after an year or so.

I have to admit that it still takes around 3 hours to do FULL scan whereas in Avast I can do it with less than 1 hour or so.

I dunno, I think you need to work hard to fix more.

It is nearly a bloatware compared to other full fledged Av's

I used to ask people to install Immunet but now I don't

I got so many complaints from people because its slow and use a lot of cpu.

If you want to stay in the field

You need a real freemium model like Avast.

You cannot disable some essential functions like Rootkit scanning or Deep scanning and expect people to use the Free version or even upgrade to the Premium version.

Every freeware AVs are going CLOUD including Avast and Comodo

So, there isn't anything special with Immunet anymore.



#9 ritchie58

ritchie58

    Staff Member

  • Moderators
  • 1,960 posts
  • LocationOil City, Pa. U.S.A.

Posted 08 February 2012 - 09:58 PM

Chris, It's true a few users have encountered excessive CPU usage. This version addresses that issue as RobT pointed out. Bloatware? Immunet has a low system footprint compared to other AV products in the marketrplace. That's what first attracted me to Immunet.That's one of the reasons I stll use it. Also there is no rootkit scanning functionality with the free version of Immunet. The Plus users can turn off the TETRA module to eliminate rootkit scans but that's not a great idea and in the Scan Settings feature of the GUI you can disable Scan Archive Files and Scan Packed Files which will give you a quicker scan time. However most viruses come compressed so turning off theses features leaves you more vulnerable to infection. It's also true that many companys are turning to the cloud but what still separates Immunet from the rest is it's "Cloud and Community" based approach to malware detection and protection implantation. No other product has anything similar that I'm aware of.

* Immunet Global Forum Moderator *


#10 Chris Thomas

Chris Thomas

    Advanced Member

  • Immunet Insiders
  • PipPipPip
  • 46 posts
  • LocationUnited Arab Emirates

Posted 08 February 2012 - 10:28 PM

It detected CleanMem as a virus now...It is a False Positive

http://www.majorgeek...nMem_d5993.html

About Community,

Avast has something called Community IQ. All the users are protected if someone detects a virus. Comodo automatically upload unknown files to its server after sandboxing it.

Sandboxing is a common feature now as well.

#11 ritchie58

ritchie58

    Staff Member

  • Moderators
  • 1,960 posts
  • LocationOil City, Pa. U.S.A.

Posted 08 February 2012 - 10:38 PM

That's kinda weird. I use CleanMem version 2.3.1 too and have not encountered this. This program needs to be whitelisted if other people encounter this behavior as it is a False Positive. CleanMem is a safe program. You could put CleanMem in Immunet's Exclusion List for now, Chris. I got a FP from Kaspersky's TDSSKiller for CleanMem after updating TDSSKiller the other day. I also use CIS and do like the sandboxing/reporting feature as well.

* Immunet Global Forum Moderator *


#12 Pedersen

Pedersen

    Administrator

  • Administrators
  • 250 posts

Posted 09 February 2012 - 10:25 AM

Hey and welcome back Chris, missed you a lot! Compared to Avast then Immunet is still a new AV and a lot of the problems you mention is being worked on. We are currently able to offer better protection with higher detection than Avast even though we might lack of performance some other places. It is up to each person what they want. Better protection or better performance. Immunet do still offer the lowest use of RAM on-demand though.
Pedersen. Sourcefire Administrator.

#13 mokito

mokito

    Advanced Member

  • Immunet Insiders
  • PipPipPip
  • 75 posts
  • LocationPortugal

Posted 09 February 2012 - 02:59 PM

and where are we on the matter of the localization? still no word on that? new build but no reference to the translated string that are made available to the forum user that volunter for that "job"........
Immunet Community E-Mail for invitation -> nunito.mokito@gmail.com

thanks! :D

#14 ryuusei

ryuusei

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 36 posts

Posted 10 February 2012 - 10:36 AM

hi
I want before I ask because some of the issues write to technical support mail, immunet the customer service reply no provide immunet malware analysis service, that if I have malware, then I want to submit to where it

#15 Lawrence_C

Lawrence_C

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • LocationVirginia USA

Posted 15 February 2012 - 03:50 AM

I have been having problems trying to update my installation of Immunet Plus.

Image displayed showing the details. Currently using 3.0.5.7552 - and trying to update it.

The ImmunetSetup.exe file is highlighted, showing version, (3.0.5.7970) when downloaded, etc.,

Tried to run it, the pop up dialog shows: This version of Immunet 3.0 is already installed!

Just downloaded ImmunetSetup.exe again immediately before posting this, same version number.

3.0.5.7970 is what the file description says it's version number is, rather than the 3.0.5.7980

that it seemingly is supposed to be, if the title of this topic thread is correct, at any rate.

"Immunet 3.0.5.7980 Released!" http://forum.immunet...57980-released/

Posted Image

Posted Image

Any help please? Thank you.
Lawrence C.

#16 ritchie58

ritchie58

    Staff Member

  • Moderators
  • 1,960 posts
  • LocationOil City, Pa. U.S.A.

Posted 15 February 2012 - 06:04 AM

Hello Lawrence_C, you are right about that, there seems to be a discrepancy between the version number that RobT posted (7980) and the actual build number (7970) of the installer. Did you uninstall the older version first as instructed? If not do that but say "yes" when the uninstaller asks if you plan to reinstall Immunet. That way most of your previous settings and all of your exclusions will be saved (I had to reset the auto scan schedule and re-log into my community account after upgrading). Then run the current installer. That worked for me.

* Immunet Global Forum Moderator *


#17 Lawrence_C

Lawrence_C

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • LocationVirginia USA

Posted 15 February 2012 - 09:54 AM

Oops, sorry, I did not notice that it has to be uninstalled, and then installed. I will do that, and thank you for pointing it out, and also the specific details, involved, too.
Lawrence C.

#18 ritchie58

ritchie58

    Staff Member

  • Moderators
  • 1,960 posts
  • LocationOil City, Pa. U.S.A.

Posted 15 February 2012 - 11:45 AM

Glad I could help Lawrence! Most times you can install over the older version without the need to uninstall. So that is an easy enough mistake to make with this version. Best wishes, Ritchie...

* Immunet Global Forum Moderator *


#19 Asher

Asher

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 20 February 2012 - 09:38 AM

The advanced link is re-installing 3.0?! Please tell me where the download is for 3.0.5ish or what ever the latest model is? Asher

#20 ritchie58

ritchie58

    Staff Member

  • Moderators
  • 1,960 posts
  • LocationOil City, Pa. U.S.A.

Posted 20 February 2012 - 10:23 AM

Hello Asher, It would depend what your native language is. If the new version does not contain the translation strings for that language then the current version that supports that particular language will be downloaded by the installer from the Immunet servers. If your language is not at issue then don't forget to uninstall the old version first and then run the newest installer as I advised Lawrence in the previous threads to this topic. Regards, Ritchie...

* Immunet Global Forum Moderator *





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users