Jump to content


Photo

Problem Installing On Windows, Says To Try Manual Install


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 maxxer

maxxer

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 29 June 2012 - 03:54 PM

Hi.
I'm trying to install Immunet on a Windows XP SP3 machine, but when it's about to download the core antivirus it fails, and tells me to try the manual intsall (see attachment).
The problem is that I didn't find any documentation about this manual install method.

how can I install immunet?
it's very strange, I've installed immunet several times without problems!


thanks

#2 Guest_OrlandoP_*

Guest_OrlandoP_*
  • Guests

Posted 29 June 2012 - 05:11 PM

Hi maxxer,

Please reupload the attachment, so we can see it.

Orlando

#3 ritchie58

ritchie58

    Staff Member

  • Moderators
  • 1,973 posts
  • LocationOil City, Pa. U.S.A.

Posted 30 June 2012 - 02:46 AM

A possibility is that the installer was corrupted or incomplete during downloading. You could try to download and run the installer again. Here is the latest 3.0.6 installer. Use your Administrator account on your machine when you run the installer. Also make sure that the installer has an unencumbered connection to the internet and that the connection is not lost or interrupted during installation since it is a bootstrapper installer. Double check that your firewall or any other security software is not blocking or sandboxing anything during the install process too.

* Immunet Global Forum Moderator *


#4 maxxer

maxxer

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 30 June 2012 - 10:25 AM

A possibility is that the installer was corrupted or incomplete during downloading. You could try to download and run the installer again. Here is the latest 3.0.6 installer. Use your Administrator account on your machine when you run the installer. Also make sure that the installer has an unencumbered connection to the internet and that the connection is not lost or interrupted during installation since it is a bootstrapper installer. Double check that your firewall or any other security software is not blocking or sandboxing anything during the install process too.

i retried at least a dozen of times with the same result, different networks, no firewall blocking.
the only thing puzzling me is that even tough the user IS the administrator, when I perform certain actions on the computer I get requested for authorization. but I'm asked, and given that it goes ahead. this doesn't happen when installing immuned

#5 ritchie58

ritchie58

    Staff Member

  • Moderators
  • 1,973 posts
  • LocationOil City, Pa. U.S.A.

Posted 30 June 2012 - 10:28 PM

This may seem like a dumb question but are you sure you have Service Pack 3 properly installed and all patches are up to date? Immunet "will not install" on XP machines without SP 2 & 3 first being installed. Worth a look anyways. There is one other unfortunate possibility, that the machine is already infected with malware which is preventing Immunet from installing. If that's the case perhaps you could try to use Emsisoft's Free Emergency Kit 2.0. Other than that I'm at a loss as to what's causing this. If you continue to have troubles you can contact the support personal at support@immunet.com and explain what's going on. Maybe a support tech will have some other suggestions that I didn't think of. Regards, Ritchie...

* Immunet Global Forum Moderator *


#6 maxxer

maxxer

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 02 July 2012 - 12:16 PM

This may seem like a dumb question but are you sure you have Service Pack 3 properly installed and all patches are up to date? Immunet "will not install" on XP machines without SP 2 & 3 first being installed. Worth a look anyways. There is one other unfortunate possibility, that the machine is already infected with malware which is preventing Immunet from installing. If that's the case perhaps you could try to use Emsisoft's Free Emergency Kit 2.0. Other than that I'm at a loss as to what's causing this. If you continue to have troubles you can contact the support personal at support@immunet.com and explain what's going on. Maybe a support tech will have some other suggestions that I didn't think of. Regards, Ritchie...


yes, it's a SP3 machine. it's freshly installed, so it's not infected.

#7 ritchie58

ritchie58

    Staff Member

  • Moderators
  • 1,973 posts
  • LocationOil City, Pa. U.S.A.

Posted 02 July 2012 - 09:37 PM

Ok, a brand new SP3 install with no infections. "That is so weird it won't install!" Unless... one last question, I did think of one other thing, is the XP OS 32bit or 64bit? Unfortunately Immunet is incompatible with XP 64bit and will not function with this OS. I apoligize, I should have thought of that at the beginning of our conversation. I just assumed you have a XP 32bit platform. I have posted a topic in the Ideas section for the developers to make Immunet compatible with this OS but not many people use this platform so I'm not sure if that will ever happen. If it is 32bit I would still "highly recommend" you contact support about this. Sorry for all the hassle you've had to endure regarding this issue. Wishing you well, Ritchie...

* Immunet Global Forum Moderator *


#8 maxxer

maxxer

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 03 July 2012 - 06:45 AM

Ok, a brand new SP3 install with no infections. "That is so weird it won't install!" Unless... one last question, I did think of one other thing, is the XP OS 32bit or 64bit? Unfortunately Immunet is incompatible with XP 64bit and will not function with this OS. I apoligize, I should have thought of that at the beginning of our conversation. I just assumed you have a XP 32bit platform. I have posted a topic in the Ideas section for the developers to make Immunet compatible with this OS but not many people use this platform so I'm not sure if that will ever happen. If it is 32bit I would still "highly recommend" you contact support about this. Sorry for all the hassle you've had to endure regarding this issue. Wishing you well, Ritchie...

thanks again for your update on this, but ti's a 32bit system...

is it possible to manually fetch what the installer is downloading?
thanks!

#9 ritchie58

ritchie58

    Staff Member

  • Moderators
  • 1,973 posts
  • LocationOil City, Pa. U.S.A.

Posted 05 July 2012 - 06:13 PM

Hi maxxer, sorry for the delay in responding but I do have a life outside of this forum and had a few days off for the July 4th holiday. Although manual installs are not recommended (the bootstapper insures you get the newest version with the latest bug fixes included) you could try this link. Direct Download Link 32bit

* Immunet Global Forum Moderator *


#10 maxxer

maxxer

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 06 July 2012 - 01:50 PM

Hi maxxer, sorry for the delay in responding but I do have a life outside of this forum and had a few days off for the July 4th holiday. Although manual installs are not recommended (the bootstapper insures you get the newest version with the latest bug fixes included) you could try this link. Direct Download Link 32bit

thanks I will try asap!




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users