Jump to content


Photo

Minor Issue


  • Please log in to reply
24 replies to this topic

#1 Zurchiboy

Zurchiboy

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 105 posts

Posted 09 April 2013 - 02:59 AM

When I try too enable Clam sig. I will hit apply, and when I close. It will turn off the setting. this is only noticed with Clam and Blocking mode, The rest of the settings I can change.
  • jiansimisibr, mayclegercirm, Slonsenesse and 23 others like this

#2 ritchie58

ritchie58

    Staff Member

  • Moderators
  • 1,958 posts
  • LocationOil City, Pa. U.S.A.

Posted 09 April 2013 - 09:56 AM

Do I have this right Zurchiboy? You enabled the ClamAV module and it's turning off on it's own? I've never seen or heard of this behavior before. If I'm understanding you correctly could you document this with some screenshots and then upload the jpegs to a new thread to this topic? If you don't have a screenshot program installed may I recommend FoxArc Screen Capture. It works great, is easy to use and it's free. http://download.cnet...4-10910425.html

* Immunet Global Forum Moderator *


#3 Zurchiboy

Zurchiboy

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 105 posts

Posted 09 April 2013 - 10:43 PM

Here is a youtube video I made of the issue.


#4 ritchie58

ritchie58

    Staff Member

  • Moderators
  • 1,958 posts
  • LocationOil City, Pa. U.S.A.

Posted 10 April 2013 - 12:12 AM

"Great idea" to post a video instead of screenshots Zurchiboy! That is very strange indeed and I wouldn't consider that a "minor" issue! I would very much encourage you to send in an SDT report to make support aware of this strange behavior. Never seen it before! You may have to do an uninstall and reinstall but before you do that send the SDT report in to support@immunet.com and see what they say. Mention the video you posted too in the SDT report so they can take a look at it.

Regards, Ritchie...

* Immunet Global Forum Moderator *


#5 Zurchiboy

Zurchiboy

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 105 posts

Posted 10 April 2013 - 02:05 AM

I will send an SDT report when I have time. They are minor to me because Comodo provides the offline protection that I need. I just have immunet as a little extra layer.

#6 ritchie58

ritchie58

    Staff Member

  • Moderators
  • 1,958 posts
  • LocationOil City, Pa. U.S.A.

Posted 10 April 2013 - 11:36 PM

Good, do send in that SDT report. Have you tried enabling those settings, completely closing the GUI, relaunching the GUI and then see if the settings have changed? I have no doubt you've already done this but have you allowed iptray.exe as an Allowed Application with internet access with Comodo? This process didn't get sandboxed with Comodo did it? That would explain things if Comodo is somehow interfering with iptray.exe. It may be that Comodo is not to blame at all but just trying to cover all the bases here.

* Immunet Global Forum Moderator *


#7 Zurchiboy

Zurchiboy

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 105 posts

Posted 10 April 2013 - 11:47 PM

Source fire is in Comodo's Whitelist. and I did not get any alerts when installing immunet.

#8 ritchie58

ritchie58

    Staff Member

  • Moderators
  • 1,958 posts
  • LocationOil City, Pa. U.S.A.

Posted 11 April 2013 - 09:57 AM

When I first installed the newest 6.0 version of Comodo Firewall I got permission popups for both agent and iptray which of course I allowed. I then opened Comodo's GUI and went to Allow Application (Tasks>Firewall Tasks>Allow Application) and manually added the filepaths for both agent.exe and iptray.exe just to make sure there would be no conflicts.Try adding thoes rules manually yourself and see if that makes a difference.

On a related subject: Comodo is going to issue a bug fix real soon for the 6.0 version. Perhaps as early as this month (tenitive date of the 18th). This build will address some incompatibilty issues with other security software that other users have encountered and some other minor performance bug fixes. Comodo usually doesn't issue updates so close together like this. Speaking from personal experience, I've been helping to beta test ExploitShield Browser Edition http://www.zerovulne...rowser-edition/ and there has been "serious conflicts" with CIS and this zero day security program. CIS is interupting the shell code injections needed for the program to function properly even after every conseivable settings configuration, allow rules and exclusions are implimented. Something hardcoded into CIS. We're hoping this latest build will address this issue as they have been made very well aware of the situation. Some Comodo testers were complaining that the beta program for this build didn't last long enough so we'll have to see what happens.

Regards, Ritchie :-)

* Immunet Global Forum Moderator *


#9 Zurchiboy

Zurchiboy

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 105 posts

Posted 11 April 2013 - 11:28 PM

They beta could have gone longer. they said that they will be doing monthly maintenence updates. been two months or more since the last update.

#10 ritchie58

ritchie58

    Staff Member

  • Moderators
  • 1,958 posts
  • LocationOil City, Pa. U.S.A.

Posted 11 April 2013 - 11:40 PM

Did you try and add those allow rules manually for agent and iptray? Any change if you did? if that didn't work I would suggest you do a clean uninstall and reinstall after you send the SDT report. When asked by the uninstaller if you're going to reinstall Immunet click on "NO" and proceed. This will give you a completely clean uninstall but you'll have to reconfigure your settings, log into your personal community, reset a scheduled scan if you were using one and add your exclusions again.

* Immunet Global Forum Moderator *


#11 ritchie58

ritchie58

    Staff Member

  • Moderators
  • 1,958 posts
  • LocationOil City, Pa. U.S.A.

Posted 18 April 2013 - 11:25 AM

I just got the new 6.1 update for Comodo pushed to me through the GUI on the date they specfied. Comodo is still blocking ExploitShield Broser Edition though. Bummer! ;-(

* Immunet Global Forum Moderator *


#12 Zurchiboy

Zurchiboy

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 105 posts

Posted 21 April 2013 - 03:56 PM

is this FP in AV. or HIPS. you know you can submit it to be whitelist. you can also add it yourself to the whitelist in the trusted vendor list. if you do that I believe it should stop stop blocking it since you added it to a whitelist of known good vendors.

Did you here that symantec is dropping PC-tools. They pratically destroyed the company. They were talking bout it on Malwaretips.

http://malwaretips.c...urity-portfolio

#13 ritchie58

ritchie58

    Staff Member

  • Moderators
  • 1,958 posts
  • LocationOil City, Pa. U.S.A.

Posted 22 April 2013 - 01:32 AM

No kidding! I wasn't aware of that. My roomy uses the PC Tools firewall. Tried to get him to switch to Comodo but he likes the PC Tools firewall for it's simplicity.

* Immunet Global Forum Moderator *


#14 Zurchiboy

Zurchiboy

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 105 posts

Posted 23 April 2013 - 12:54 PM

you should show him what there saying on malware tips. I am sure the program will still work. but it won't receive any more patches.

#15 ritchie58

ritchie58

    Staff Member

  • Moderators
  • 1,958 posts
  • LocationOil City, Pa. U.S.A.

Posted 23 April 2013 - 02:49 PM

That is a shame that Symantec does that. Buys a competing company only to scrap it. Like that one poster said. If you can't beat 'em, buy 'em! Like you said the PC Tools Firewall Plus still works but will no longer get updated. I'll inform Bob about that and maybe I can get him to switch to Comodo Firewall now.

* Immunet Global Forum Moderator *


#16 Zurchiboy

Zurchiboy

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 105 posts

Posted 23 April 2013 - 05:45 PM

Yeah. it does suck. They used to have free antivirus software. and when symantec bought them. they got rid of it. They are making a lot of money on norton. I would think they can offer some protection for free.

#17 Zurchiboy

Zurchiboy

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 105 posts

Posted 06 July 2013 - 04:49 PM

I am now re experiencing this bug in a more inconvenient way. I have clam av on and want to turn it off. Very similar behavior to what I showed in the video. But i cannot change any settings at all without them reverting. I have noticed that this behavior starts after having immunet installed for a while. and when trying to add exclusions It get this error message. I had to compress screen shot in order to upload. I also cannot remove preset exclusions as well.

Attached Files


Edited by Zurchiboy, 06 July 2013 - 04:54 PM.


#18 ritchie58

ritchie58

    Staff Member

  • Moderators
  • 1,958 posts
  • LocationOil City, Pa. U.S.A.

Posted 06 July 2013 - 08:30 PM

I would suggest you send in a SDT report regarding this. I'm sure Support would like to take a look at this. That is very strange. Like Francis mentioned in another thread, maybe your local.xml file has become corrupted for some odd reason. You may have to do a full uninstall and reinstall but do send in that report first if you will.

For some reason I couldn't get that zip file to open properly.

* Immunet Global Forum Moderator *


#19 Zurchiboy

Zurchiboy

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 105 posts

Posted 08 July 2013 - 08:40 PM

The screen shot was a picture of the error message. If you want to see it. pm me another way of getting it to you since the picture is to big to upload so I compressed it as much as i could with winrar.

I did a full uninstall as you said and reinstalled. the problem is fixed for now. I will mention that This behavior occurs after a while being installed. It used to function properly. I will let you know if this does happen again.

Edited by Zurchiboy, 08 July 2013 - 08:41 PM.


#20 ritchie58

ritchie58

    Staff Member

  • Moderators
  • 1,958 posts
  • LocationOil City, Pa. U.S.A.

Posted 08 July 2013 - 11:20 PM

Glad to hear the reinstall worked. That is funny. I tried both 7Zip and WinRAR to decompress the file with no luck. Kept getting an error message stating the file could not be unpacked. I would like to take a look at it. You could send it to me as an attachment to my regular email address, I'll PM you with that. You shouldn't need to compress it if you send it as an email attachment.

* Immunet Global Forum Moderator *





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users