Jump to content


Photo

Immunet 5.0.2 High Cpu Usage


  • Please log in to reply
23 replies to this topic

#1 Betsyfr

Betsyfr

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 13 October 2016 - 02:43 AM

I recently upgraded to Immunet 5 from Immunet 3, and I'm noticing higher CPU usage with Sourcefire Connector program (regularly 10-30%, which is too much for me).

 

I'm running Windows 10, English, 64-bit, version 1607, OS Build 14393.321

 

Not sure if the following is related, but the high CPU usage happened simultaneously with a Windows update that revived Windows Defender, which is now taking up even more CPU capacity than Immunet, when Defender automatically turns its "continuous" mode back on (which I always promptly turn off).

 

I also use IDrive online backup and a local Seagate hardrive with scheduled daily backup.

 

Maybe I have the wrong settings activated for Immunet?

 

Please help!

 

 

 



#2 ritchie58

ritchie58

    Staff Member

  • Moderators
  • 1,824 posts
  • LocationOil City, Pa. U.S.A.

Posted 13 October 2016 - 06:48 AM

That is a little odd. When you install another AV product that should automatically turn off Defender to avoid conflicts (I think that's what's happening), unless Win 10 is different somehow. I haven't upgraded to Win 10 so sorry for my lack of knowledge concerning this OS.
 

You could try to see if there is a listing in "Services" for Defender and permanently disable the program that way. First make sure you're logged in as Administrator. I would assume 10 still uses the msconfig utility, if you're familiar with that tool, or you could open Control Panel and click on Administrative Tools and select Services. Find the Windows Defender service from the list and right-click on it > click on Properties > click on Startup type > click Disable from the drop down menu > click Apply > click Ok (see image). Then restart your computer and that should do it.

 

Attached File  Defender service disabled.jpg   145.77KB   0 downloads As you can see I have Defender disabled since it's not wanted or needed with the installed security software on my computer.

Best wishes, Ritchie...


  • Robert G. likes this

* Immunet Global Forum Moderator *


#3 Robert G.

Robert G.

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 17 October 2016 - 05:22 AM

I hate to be Capt'n Obvious here but most people know that Defender is meant as a "very basic" form of protection for the the folks that either refuse to or are ignorant of the importance to install a good, dedicated third-party AV product.


Edited by Robert G., 17 October 2016 - 06:00 AM.


#4 Betsyfr

Betsyfr

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 01 November 2016 - 03:08 PM

That is a little odd. When you install another AV product that should automatically turn off Defender to avoid conflicts (I think that's what's happening), unless Win 10 is different somehow. I haven't upgraded to Win 10 so sorry for my lack of knowledge concerning this OS.
 

You could try to see if there is a listing in "Services" for Defender and permanently disable the program that way. First make sure you're logged in as Administrator. I would assume 10 still uses the msconfig utility, if you're familiar with that tool, or you could open Control Panel and click on Administrative Tools and select Services. Find the Windows Defender service from the list and right-click on it > click on Properties > click on Startup type > click Disable from the drop down menu > click Apply > click Ok (see image). Then restart your computer and that should do it.

 

attachicon.gifDefender service disabled.jpg As you can see I have Defender disabled since it's not wanted or needed with the installed security software on my computer.

Best wishes, Ritchie...

Thanks Ritchie. The Immunet 5.0.2 install did not seem to automatically shut off Defender, which is what I would have preferred. I tried your suggestion for disabling Defender, but the "Startup type" functions were grayed out, and I'm not able to change it (I am logged in as administrator). I don't have the time these days to hunt down a solution to the Defender problem (so many solutions out there don't work...for example, a proposed registry edit that was supposed to turn off Defender, just turned off the user's ability to turn it off, so it was stuck in the on position!), but I'll keep an eye on the boards here to see if anyone who has Windows 10 has the same problem and a solution. Thanks again for taking the time to answer.



#5 ritchie58

ritchie58

    Staff Member

  • Moderators
  • 1,824 posts
  • LocationOil City, Pa. U.S.A.

Posted 01 November 2016 - 11:40 PM

Hi Betsy, sorry to hear you couldn't disable Defender with Services. I've never seen that feature greyed out as you mentioned. Maybe that's normal for Win 10 but if you muck about with the registry and delete the wrong keys that can have "very undesirable consequences" for your Operating System.


I don't know if this will be of any use to you but her is a link to the Windows Ten Forums that out lines how to disable Defender using the Local Group Policy Editor. http://www.tenforums...ndows-10-a.html

 

There is another way to disable Defender using Administrator Command Prompts if you'd be game to try that. There is a draw back using this method with Windows 10 however. If you disable Defender using these Command Prompts you may not be able to turn it back on at a later date.
 

  • Open Admin Command Prompt and type: gpedit.msc
  • Go to Computer Configuration =>Administrative Templates=>Windows Components=>Windows Defender
  • Double click on "Turn Off Windows Defender" and select "Enabled" then click "Apply"

    Best Wishes, Ritchie...
     

* Immunet Global Forum Moderator *


#6 froody

froody

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 11 November 2016 - 04:34 PM

Hi everybody. I have a comment to make regarding the high cpu load that Sourcefire Connector is generating. I was forced to deinstall immunet. I am using Panda Free Antivirus on Windows 10 (Home) - version 1607.

Load was constantly 25% - and no idea, what was going on... Defender is deactivated (since I am using another AV program). What bothers me the most, is that I have no clue about what is going on. I would surely like to have the possibility to get a real-time log and/or indication about what is happening.

I installed immunet because it was supposed to coexist with an existing antivirus program, but not when it is taking up much more resources.

Happy to provide further information when needed.

Cheers!



#7 Joel Esler

Joel Esler

    Community Manager

  • Administrators
  • 8 posts

Posted 17 November 2016 - 08:15 PM

Have you all see the Kaspersky -> Microsoft Lawsuit about Windows 10 + Defender?  



#8 ritchie58

ritchie58

    Staff Member

  • Moderators
  • 1,824 posts
  • LocationOil City, Pa. U.S.A.

Posted 26 November 2016 - 05:11 AM

Hi Joel, no, I haven't heard anything about the lawsuit. I would venture to guess that it involves possible deliberate coding to make Win 10 & Defender incompatible with some third-party AV products. That wouldn't surprise me a bit considering what Betsyfr just went through getting Defender to behave itself. Sorry to hear you basically ran into the same thing too froody.

 

Best wishes, Ritchie...


* Immunet Global Forum Moderator *


#9 froody

froody

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 01 December 2016 - 04:27 PM

Hi Joel, no, I haven't heard anything about the lawsuit. I would venture to guess that it involves possible deliberate coding to make Win 10 & Defender incompatible with some third-party AV products. That wouldn't surprise me a bit considering what Betsyfr just went through getting Defender to behave itself. Sorry to hear you basically ran into the same thing too froody.

 

Best wishes, Ritchie...

Note: on another computer running the same AV program I did not experience the same problem... Would really appreciate a more detailed comment.



#10 Christoph444

Christoph444

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 10 January 2017 - 07:43 AM

 

Dear Support Team!

 

Once or twice a week my PC seems to freeze due to Immunet. CPU is at 100%, no network communication, mouse and keyboard not responsive. Task Bar also frozen so that even clock does not update. No response to Ctrl-Alt-Del. There is a slight chance that I can kill Immunet Task via Task Manager, but only if Task Manager is in foreground (because I cannot switch to it) and only if it recognizes the click on 'End Task'. In most cases, I have to pull the power plug. I assume this has something to do with Windows Update or another Windows internal Task, as this also happens over night when the Workstation is just locked and no other action takes place.

 

Environment:

Windows 10 1607 64-bit, all Updates applied

Windows Defender disabled via Registry setting

No other Malware protection software running

 

Support Log (50MB) can be found here: http://stadlmann.wp...._04_14_17_40.7z

 

Please advise on how to solve the issue.

 

Best Regards,

Christoph

 

 

 



#11 ritchie58

ritchie58

    Staff Member

  • Moderators
  • 1,824 posts
  • LocationOil City, Pa. U.S.A.

Posted 14 January 2017 - 04:29 AM

Hi Christoph, It would be better if you sent that support dump directly to support@immunet.com. In the email include all relevant data to the issue and any screen shots you may have made. Also mention that you started a new thread to this support topic in your email. Additional info about sending a comprehensive Support Diagnostic Tool Report can be found at this FAQ topic. http://support.immun...ic-tool-report/


I'm not entirely convinced that Immunet is the cause of your problems however. I could be wrong but it sounds more like you're experiencing hardware issues (a bad RAM module, motherboard issue or a power supply problem maybe?) or some conflict with the Operating System itself.

Best wishes, Ritchie...


* Immunet Global Forum Moderator *


#12 Christoph444

Christoph444

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 16 January 2017 - 07:30 AM

Hi Ritchie!
 
I tried to send the Email as requested, but it did not go through. This is why I chose the forum as a last resort.
 
I do not assume a Hardware defect as the Computer is running normally besides this issue. Furthermore a second Computer running virtually is having the same Problem on Windows 8.1.

 

As you can see in the attached screenshot of Task Manager, (this happened while typing this message) there is some interaction with 'ClipSVC' Service, which is part of the 'wsappx' Group. This is why I assumed some Windows process as root cause.

 

BTW, I already excluded 'C:\Windows\system32\svchost.exe' from scanning, so I assume this is Network activity related.

 

Regards,

Christoph

 

Attached Files



#13 ritchie58

ritchie58

    Staff Member

  • Moderators
  • 1,824 posts
  • LocationOil City, Pa. U.S.A.

Posted 17 January 2017 - 04:39 AM

The email didn't go through? Was the support dump zip file too large to add as an attachment with the email provider that you use? I have seen that happen before. Might I suggest you send another email to support@immunet.com without the support zip file included as an email attachment. Just mention that you have already included the support zip file in an additional thread to this topic. Of course, once again, include the pertinent data associated with this issue in the email. I am glad you don't think it's a hardware problem though!

Regards, Ritchie...


* Immunet Global Forum Moderator *


#14 goodfera

goodfera

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 18 April 2017 - 12:00 PM

The problem continues and it is Immunet.  I have had now in last 6 months 12 friends and family raise issue of computer sluggish and "Sourcefire Connector" running constantly over 20 % of resource, with no scan instigated by user.  Only option has been to completely remove, clean registry and then reinstall.

 

In two cases users did not want it to happen again, so moved to another product.

 

Do hope cause can be found and rectified.

 

Thank you.



#15 goodfera

goodfera

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 18 April 2017 - 02:03 PM

Yes I see in thread "Ideas For Immunet From Testing The Latest Client" that it is also recognised; "10x64 often causes sfc.exe to idle at 5-10% cpu usage"



#16 ritchie58

ritchie58

    Staff Member

  • Moderators
  • 1,824 posts
  • LocationOil City, Pa. U.S.A.

Posted 20 April 2017 - 04:33 AM

I know if you have Monitor Program Install & Blocking Mode enabled in Settings that can increase the CPU cycles used for the program. That's why when you first install Immunet these settings are turned off by default. You can use Immunet without these settings enabled but you do lose a bit of protection by doing so.

Also, if you have Scan Archive Files & Scan Packed Files enabled in Scan Settings this will increase the resources used. These settings are used to scan any compressed files being downloaded or accessed which is a great security feature actually!


So it really is a trade off. Do you want better protection or Immunet using up less system resources. That's up the the individual user to decide I think.

Regards, Ritchie...
 

P. S. - This has also happened on more than one occasion, a user has created a Scheduled Scan and inadvertently forgotten about that fact. Then wonder why, on occasion, Immunet is using up CPU & RAM resources for no apparent reason when in actuality the Scheduled Scan is running.


* Immunet Global Forum Moderator *


#17 Barnzier

Barnzier

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 21 April 2017 - 11:59 AM

Hello. I have an issue with Sourcefire Connector as well, so instead of creating a new post I reply to this one if that is ok.

 

This has happened around 5 times now ever since I installed Immunet in january I believe. I notice my computer slowing to a crawl, having to manually turn my computer off with the power button. Since it happened last time, I always make sure that my Task Manager is up, so when it happens I can see exactly what is causing it. And today it happened, and I saw it was the Sourcefire Connector that causes it. I saw it was using 88-90% of my CPU power, making my computer slow as a snail. Thing is, I think it only happens when I just have opened the League of Legends client. Not sure about this, but the last three times it has happened, I had just opened LoL.

 

Please find me a fix for this, because it's not fun. Thanks.



#18 ritchie58

ritchie58

    Staff Member

  • Moderators
  • 1,824 posts
  • LocationOil City, Pa. U.S.A.

Posted 21 April 2017 - 11:51 PM

League of Legends is a legitimate on-line video game by Riot Games Inc. I would conjecture that Immunet is scanning multiple files at the same time that the game is creating them. DirectX Run-Time Web Installer maybe? The game does rely heavily on this Windows component.

 

Have you tried to create Exclusion Rules in Settings for the folder(s)/files that are being used for the game with Immunet? If you're not sure what exclusions to use check Immunet's History files, do some on-line research yourself or contact the game's devs by requesting a support ticket https://support.riot...us/requests/new to find out the correct folder(s)/file paths that the game utilizes for your Operating System and then create the necessary exclusion rules accordingly. That's what I would do I think.

 

Not a bad idea to have the newest build of DirectX installed on your computer for any on-line game that requires it. Just thought I'd mention that if you haven't updated the Windows software in a while. https://support.micr...sion-of-directx

 

Also you could try turning off Monitor Program Install & Blocking Mode in Settings, if you have these enabled, when you play the game to see if that makes a difference. Just don't forget to turn 'em back on afterwards if you utilize these settings.
 

Cheers, Ritchie...


* Immunet Global Forum Moderator *


#19 khampol

khampol

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 12 May 2017 - 03:19 AM

After installed Immu 5.x, SFC.exe run and take me more than 450Mb RAM and still going up.... Whats going on??



#20 ritchie58

ritchie58

    Staff Member

  • Moderators
  • 1,824 posts
  • LocationOil City, Pa. U.S.A.

Posted 13 May 2017 - 12:09 AM

Immunet will use extra RAM resources when the program is pulling down definition updates and installing them (or when a scheduled or manual scan is initiated). This is normal behavior. The RAM usage should significantly go down once the defs are installed. Are you seeing Immunet "constantly" using that much RAM khampol?
 

Regards, Ritchie...


* Immunet Global Forum Moderator *





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users