Jump to content


Photo

Issue With Factsage


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 Barnie

Barnie

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 19 July 2017 - 05:56 PM

I am having a problem with Immunet and Factsage since I upgraded from ver 3 to ver 5. With Immunet 5 installed Factsage will not start and it has problems with the sentinel security dongle. There seems to be a file called CheckeyLDK.ini that has the software creates on every start that shows "access denied" when I try to look at it after Factsage is started. The "access denied" on the file remains after Factsage (which goes into a demo mode with a security issue) is exited. If I uninstall Immunet the problem goes away.



#2 ritchie58

ritchie58

    Staff Member

  • Moderators
  • 1,958 posts
  • LocationOil City, Pa. U.S.A.

Posted 20 July 2017 - 03:50 AM

Hi Barnie, Factsage is one of the largest fully integrated database computing systems in chemical thermodynamics in the world which can be used for educational, scientific and commercial applications and is owned by Thermfact/CRCT & GTT-Technologies. This is a legitimate software package so I would speculate that perhaps you may have one or more False Positives.

There is a few things you could look into. Click on Quarantine (located below and to the right of the History tab on the UI) to see if any files associated with Factsage have been flagged as malicious. If so, simply click on the file(s) in question and choose the Restore option for the file(s). This will automatically move the file(s) to Immunet's Exclusion list and will no longer be scanned. If that doesn't seem to help try turning off Monitor Program Start & Blocking Mode in Settings.

 

Another option would be to exclude the entire Program Files folder with Immunet although I can't really recommend that as that will leave the program more vulnerable to infection.

 

If none of these things seem to do the job I can direct you via personal message to an admin. that can look into this matter further for you.
 

Regards, Ritchie...


* Immunet Global Forum Moderator *


#3 Barnie

Barnie

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 20 July 2017 - 11:20 PM

Ritchie,

Thanks for the suggestions. In checking the quarantine I have no files that have been flagged as malicious. :) but then nothing to restore. I tried excluding the entire FactSage tree and that worked. It would be better if I could trim the tree. I tried excluding the factsage\sentinel subdirectory where the CheckeyLDK.ini is located, but that is insuficcient and the I get the same errors back. I have also added the Factsage.exe to the excluded files, but no joy there. Then added the checkLDK.exe and a few others, but still no luck. It feels like hit or miss on what to exclude.

Thanks,



#4 ritchie58

ritchie58

    Staff Member

  • Moderators
  • 1,958 posts
  • LocationOil City, Pa. U.S.A.

Posted 21 July 2017 - 01:26 AM

Have you checked Factsage's own support forums/FAQ sections to see if other users have had conflicts with AV products similar to yours? That may not be a bad idea actually, if you haven't done so already.

 

In the mean time please check your Personal Messenger for further information regarding this matter.

 

Regards, Ritchie...


* Immunet Global Forum Moderator *


#5 Barnie

Barnie

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 21 July 2017 - 06:17 PM

Thanks, I started with a note to Factsage before I found out it was an interaction with Immunet. I followed up with a note identifing the problem went away when I removed Immunet, but I still needed antivirus on the system. I haven't heard back on either note yet.

I have been able to reduce the files I need to exclude in Immunet, so things are a bit better. Still interesting issue of HASP and locked files I think.

Again thanks,






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users