Jump to content


Photo

Immunet Service Does Not Autostart Under "standard User"


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 Net

Net

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts

Posted 26 September 2017 - 08:57 PM

[Somehow the entire message body was deleted when I posted this a few minutes ago...]

 

Running Immunet 6.0.4.10585 English under Windows 10 Pro x64.

 

This is my home PC so I own the Administrator account.  However, I always run under a Standard User account for better security.  Immunet will install under Standard User, but its service will not autostart when I log in as Standard User.  So it can't run scans.

 

I have emailed a Support Diagnostic 7z archive to support@immunet.com**.  Note the even when the Support Diagnostic tool is run under the Standard User account, it puts its report on the Administrator desktop, which makes it hard to find.

 

 

**FAIL - my email of the 7z diagnostic archive to support@immunet.com is constantly being rejected by the Google intermediary mail handler for "security reasons".  Maybe the filenames containing the word "exe" are the problem eg "immunet.exe.log".  One Immunet support message said to upload this attachment to the "Box" link but I can't find anything like that in any message or on the site.  The "How to Post an Effective Bug Report" sticky post here says to email the report as I did.

 

** RE-SENT the 7z archive using a Cox email account

 

** REJECTED again...  so exactly how are we to send you the 7z diagnostic archives?


Edited by Net, 26 September 2017 - 10:00 PM.


#2 ritchie58

ritchie58

    Staff Member

  • Moderators
  • 1,974 posts
  • LocationOil City, Pa. U.S.A.

Posted 27 September 2017 - 12:50 AM

Hello Net, something to keep into consideration is that Immunet does not support fast user switching. If you change user accounts after booting up that causes two instances of iptray.exe to be launched. Only one instance of iptray.exe can interact with sfc.exe. So if you do change user accounts you can either re-boot or you can use Task Manager and kill iptray.exe for the account that's not currently being used without re-booting.

 

Did you try and password protect the support 7zip compressed file prior to sending it via email? This encrypts the file so that could help sending it as an attachment in your email. Just don't forget to include the password. My Yahoo mail service does the exact same thing unless I first encrypt the SDT support dump, then add it as an attachment.

 

The support zip file is created un-encrypted for a reason, that way a user may open & unpack the file to view the contents if so desired. Although no User Identifiable Information (UII) is included some email clients see this as a possible security issue, thus the need to first encrypt the file. I hope this info was helpful.

 

Regards, Ritchie...


* Immunet Global Forum Moderator *


#3 Net

Net

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts

Posted 27 September 2017 - 02:56 AM

[What is it with this forum?  Every post I make has all its text deleted at least once...  I have to "Edit" the blank one.  I'm using Chrome with ScriptSafe and a few other privacy extensions.]

 

I re-sent the SDP file as an encrypted RAR archive; maybe that will get through OK.


Edited by Net, 27 September 2017 - 02:57 AM.


#4 ritchie58

ritchie58

    Staff Member

  • Moderators
  • 1,974 posts
  • LocationOil City, Pa. U.S.A.

Posted 27 September 2017 - 04:06 AM

This is getting rather off topic but I don't think it necessarily might be the forum at fault Net. I have no issues posting new stuff with Firefox. I even use NoScript and several other security/privacy add-ons to a "highly customized" Firefox with no conflicts. Then again, I've been using FF since version 3. something or other, that goes back a few years; considering the current public version is 55.03! From experience, I do know some of the good tweaks and apps to use for this browser.

 

That's not to say there isn't some sort of conflict going on between your Chrome browser, with the apps you're using and the forum IP.Board 3.4.7 software. That's a definite possibility Net but like I said I think the conflict lies with your browser & the way it's currently configured.

 

Best wishes, Ritchie...


* Immunet Global Forum Moderator *


#5 P36L4

P36L4

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 14 posts
  • LocationAustralia

Posted 01 October 2017 - 12:56 AM

Have you got cCleaner malware v x.33 installed at some time?

 

IF so this virus will slowly destroy your admin hence the problems you see (sound similar). Only solution is a clean install of the OS. Then install Immu as admin (right click) and all should be back to normal from both accounts.


Edited by P36L4, 01 October 2017 - 12:57 AM.

  • ritchie58 likes this

#6 ritchie58

ritchie58

    Staff Member

  • Moderators
  • 1,974 posts
  • LocationOil City, Pa. U.S.A.

Posted 01 October 2017 - 03:32 AM

I'm glad I never updated to that version of CCleaner! Here's more info right from the folks at Piriform about these malware laden versions.


Security Notification for CCleaner v5.33.6162 and CCleaner Cloud v1.07.3191 for 32-bit Windows users

  https://www.piriform...t-windows-users

 

Also check out the posting in the General section of the forum for more info regarding this matter. Since it's getting off-topic any new thread to this CCleaner issue would be greatly appreciated if it's directed to that topic.

http://support.immun...1-was-infected/


Edited by ritchie58, 01 October 2017 - 07:25 AM.
Check General Section For More Info

* Immunet Global Forum Moderator *


#7 P36L4

P36L4

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 14 posts
  • LocationAustralia

Posted 01 October 2017 - 08:11 AM

Thanks for the links - yes, this backdoor is pretty sophisticated malware and for me no more cCleaner ever.



#8 Net

Net

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts

Posted 03 October 2017 - 09:37 PM

OP here.

 

To get back on track:  I login to my Win10 x64 PC as a Standard User.  The Immunet v6.0.4 service does not start, so the util can do nothing.

 

[Am I the only person here running that way?  No other reports, confirmations, or contradictions?]

 

[Not due to a CCleaner infection - my PC wasn't even exposed to that and the telltales aren't there.]



#9 Net

Net

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts

Posted 06 October 2017 - 03:05 AM

[All post text deleted the first time again...  only forum in dozens that has this problem for me...]

 

Immunet v6.06 has cured the problem I reported.  Its service starts OK when I login as "Standard User", and scans run OK.  Win 10 Pro x64.


Edited by Net, 06 October 2017 - 03:07 AM.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users