Jump to content


Photo

Immunet 6.06 - Windows 7 - "needs Update"


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 RP13326

RP13326

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 05 December 2017 - 01:43 AM

I have a friend running Immunet 6.06 on their windows 7 box, I just helped them install it recently, it states that it is "Not Updated" and to "Fix It" - yet when we click "Fix It" it says that it is up to date and stays yellow.

 

They use a cellular hotspot for their internet connectivity due to living in the middle of nowhere.

 

Thoughts?



#2 ritchie58

ritchie58

    Staff Member

  • Moderators
  • 1,974 posts
  • LocationOil City, Pa. U.S.A.

Posted 05 December 2017 - 02:33 AM

You might want to check if your friend's modem/router has a built in hardware firewall. There are times when the necessary ports need manually created allow rules to the modem/router hardware firewall. Refer to the router manufacture's owners manual on how to create these rules. http://support.immun...-your-firewall/

 

If it's not a router hardware firewall issue also check the PC's software firewall (as with the hardware firewall the software firewall also needs the proper allow rules) & any other installed third-party security programs that may block or interfere with Immunet's processes which are sfc.exe, iptray.exe (and freshclam.exe if the ClamAV module is enabled). That's a couple of things you can look into RP13326.

 

It could also be a connectivity issue, Immunet loosing it's connection during the update process because of intermittent Internet access . If that's the problem there's not much can be done there unless they get a more reliable internet service provider.
 

Regards, Ritchie...


* Immunet Global Forum Moderator *


#3 P36L4

P36L4

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 14 posts
  • LocationAustralia

Posted 08 December 2017 - 09:52 AM

Update manually (update now) the first time and after that it should work as expected - I had the same problem


Edited by P36L4, 08 December 2017 - 09:53 AM.


#4 ritchie58

ritchie58

    Staff Member

  • Moderators
  • 1,974 posts
  • LocationOil City, Pa. U.S.A.

Posted 09 December 2017 - 05:14 AM

I'm assuming they already tried that without success P36L4. That's the reason I offered some other things to look into.


* Immunet Global Forum Moderator *


#5 Aris

Aris

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 13 December 2017 - 05:47 PM

I think I have the solution, because I had the same problem.

After the analysis of Immunet support, it came up that there was something wrong with the dns providers of my connection.

It works perfect now, after changing DNS settings on my PC in IPv4 settings to Google's. 8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4

 

I am pretty sure that this is the solution!

Please let me know if it works for you too.


Edited by Aris, 13 December 2017 - 05:47 PM.


#6 P36L4

P36L4

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 14 posts
  • LocationAustralia

Posted 13 December 2017 - 08:45 PM

While a borked DNS setting/server can cause this issue very well..

 

I am using Google's DNS since ever and always seeing this problem after installation first time - to me it's a software flaw not doing the initial update properly or not doing the initial update at all.


Edited by P36L4, 13 December 2017 - 08:46 PM.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users